The Time Traveler

They always said, “Be careful,
What you wish for.”
But I never thought
I’d ever get the chance.

To see your pretty eyes,
Smiling up at me again,
And I never thought I’d ever,
Feel this close to you again.

But I’m a… Time Traveler,
So far away, I don’t belong,
Wading through streams, of infinite dreams,
I spend all my time traveling on.

Somewhere in my mind,
I hear your laughter.
I don’t even close my eyes,
I’m already by your side.

Beneath the falling stars,
We never noticed.
Lost in each others arms,
While time flowed on around us.

‘Cause I’m a… Time Traveler,
Out of time, I don’t belong,
Lost in my dreams, of impossible things,
I spend all my time traveling on.

I walk along a beach, yet no one sees me,
Perhaps they’re all just time travelers, too.
I thought maybe just this once I’d ask directions,
Though how I got so lost, I never knew.

I see every day at once,
All ever flowing.
Maybe that’s why I never,
Seem to get where I’m going.

I’m just a… Time Traveler,
In every moment, and in none.
Living, it seems, is just out of reach,
I spend all my time traveling on.

Somewhere up ahead, a new day’s dawning,
The bright light makes me turn and bow my head,
And time flows on and on, in all directions,
But even we time travelers someday reach the end.

So I’m telling you, Be careful,
What you wish for.
Live each and every day,
Then let them go.

Don’t be a… Time Traveler,
So far away, so alone,
Lost in the streams, of fading dreams,
I spend all my time traveling on.

Leave a Reply

