Good-bye

I never dreamed of being perfect,
Or expecting that of you,
Yet I thought we could be happy…
Me and You.

Never gave you my demands,
Or told you what to do,
I love you… for who you are…
You’re still wishing on your star.

I can only be myself,
You wish I was someone else,
But I can’t live that lie…
Guess it’s time to say good-bye.

I wish I could change for you,
And be all you asked me to,
But I won’t tell you lies…
Wish I didn’t have to say…

Good-bye.

I wear the gray and black,
Down at the penitentiary,
Well, you think it’s hard on you…
Well, It’s damn hard to be me.

I’ve bled stars and stripes,
And stood strong for liberty,
Some scars of ours run deeper…
Than the sharpest eye can see.

I can only be myself,
I wish I were someone else,
But I won’t live that lie…
Guess I have to say good-bye.

I wish I was all you need,
I’d give everything to be,
But I won’t sell you lies..
Wish I didn’t have to say…

Good-bye.

Now, I’ve lost every dream,
I ever fought to hold on to,
But that doesn’t seem to matter…
Much to you.

If you can’t see who I am,
And the man I’ve always been,
Then walk away…
Or open up your heart and stay.

‘Cause I can only be myself,
Not a shell of someone else,
Until the day I die…
Will you be there to say good-bye?

I wish I could change for you,
Be all the things you want me to,
But it would be a lie…
Still, I wish we didn’t have to say…

Good-bye

Leave a Reply

