It Could Have Been You

I guess it couldn’t have been me,
But it could have been you,
I was living a dream,
That you could have made true,
When I wished on a star,
I saw you wish on one too,
I guess it couldn’t have been me,
But it could have been you.

I guess it couldn’t have been me,
That fell in love with you,
He was the happiest guy,
I think I ever knew,
Now when I think of your smile,
It turns my heart to blue,
I guess it couldn’t have been me,
But it could have been you.

Sunny days,
Can’t replace,
I wish that it would rain,
Down on my face,
To hide the trace,
Of tears I shed for you.

I guess it couldn’t have been me,
Walk down the aisle with you,
You were the light of my life,
I feel so lonely without you,
Now all I’m left with are words,
Yes, your silence speaks true,
I guess it couldn’t have been me,
But it could have been you.

I guess it couldn’t have been me,
The one you’d always adore,
I know I’m not the one,
That you’ve been searching for,
I just want you to know,
Before I say adieu, (I do…)
I guess it couldn’t have been me,
But it could have been you.

Leave a Reply

