Trip the Lights

If I trip the lights tonight,
Would it give me strength to fight?
If I trip a wire in the dark,
Would I only see the deadly spark?
Or would I find the time to re-align,
The bloody wreckage of my fractured mind?
Would I sift the burning lines to find,
An answer to this naked crime?

My hate’s the only way,
To finally put to rest this day,
So I’ll call you up to say,
That your fears are in my way.
I never heard the dial tone,
One click and it was gone.
As the room fills up with fire,
I’ve never felt like I was higher.

Through the window just in time,
As the flames run down my spine,
I see a shadow on the ground,
The last trace of you I ever found.
Red eyes stare me down,
Fleeing farther with a violent sound,
My hate’s the only way,
To justify the price you’ll pay.

If I trip the lights tonight,
Would I disappear in firelight?
If I tried to catch you in my car,
Would I burn beneath the ancient stars?
Or would I find a way to replay,
Your games, the way you kill the day?
Would you shed a tear for love and fear,
Will I die tonight…
If I trip the lights?

Leave a Reply

