3/19

Here I am, just another soul,
Under just another star, in someone else’s sky.
The seconds ticking by don’t mean as much anymore,
Not as much as they once did.
Yes, just another star in this sleepless sky,
Another dream, another life… and I’m still here…
…And you’re still gone.

Sometimes on a night like this one,
I wish the memories weren’t so crystal clear.
All my emotions come crashing back on me,
Like the waves against the rocks.
I feel every moment with each deafening crash,
A song, a face, a smell, a taste…
I remember it all… and it’s bittersweet.

Then there are those mornings when I wake,
From hours of broken sleep, and I find myself afraid.
Afraid I’ve lost a piece of that bittersweet, stinging memory.
A vital, precious memory, washed away like a smudge from a dirty glass.
And I curse myself for allowing it to go.
And I pray for something to remind me… but things rarely do.
Some memories remain lost.

So here I am… just another soul,
Under just another star, in someone else’s sky.
Just another dream, another life… and I’m still here…
…Missing you.

Leave a Reply

