Burn My Words

Burn my words,
Upon your soul,
Or cast them in the fire.
Feel them burning,
In your heart,
Or stoke the fire higher.

Burn my words,
Upon your lips,
A taste of love’s desire.
Or spit them out,
The chimney top,
As ashes floating skyward.

Feel the flames,
That burn for you,
They grow yet don’t consume.
Or burn my words,
To light your eyes,
A flash that fades too soon.

On this lonely,
Cold, November night,
Hold the heat of my love in,
Or burn my words,
To light your hearth,
And freeze your soul within.

Leave a Reply

