Poison

I don’t feel the sunlight,
Streaming down my face,
It doesn’t light my deepest thoughts,
I can’t feel its soft embrace.

All I feel is radiation,
Overcoming me,
Burning out the memories,
Of who we used to be.

Watch me drink the poison,
You spit in my face,
I’m becoming a beacon,
Of all-consuming grace.

All the years I stood for you,
You were demonizing me,
Now you’ll fear the flame,
You’ve unleashed inside me.

Every word you utter,
Makes a hollow sound,
Empty thoughts you justify,
Upon your sinking ground.

You tell me who I really am,
But you don’t know yourself.
Your dreams are laced with nightmares,
You stole from someone else.

So take your moral high ground,
Off the bottom of the well,
Before you find yourself,
Preaching tolerance in Hell.

For everything I tried to teach you,
You tried to change in me,
Now you’ll fear the flame,
You’ve unleashed inside me.

Leave a Reply

